The Albertson Public Library opened in 1923 at the corner of Central and Rosalind in Downtown Orlando. Check out the progress through the years and the various building stages.
Albertson Public Library
ABOVE: Painting by James Stoll shows the area surrounding the Albertson Public Library in 1945. West of the library are the Salvation Army Citadel and Chamber of Commerce Building, further west on the other side of Main Street (now Magnolia) is the old Court House with the new court house behind it. On Wall Street is Orlando Utilities, the Young Women’s Community Club and annex and the First Church of Christ Scientist. Just north of the church on Rosalind you can see Memorial Junior High School. Read more about the painting.
1966 Orlando Public Library
ABOVE: Architect’s rendering of the 1966 building. The library entrance on Rosalind Avenue showing the ramp to the front doors of the library. The old check in area can be found in the Children’s Library next to the computers. The old checkout desk is now the restrooms.
ABOVE: Post card 1966 Orlando Public Library showing the ramp on Rosalind Avenue to the entrance.
Open House for the new Orlando Public Library – May 1985
ABOVE: Flyer handed out at the grand opening of the newly expanded Library building on May 29, 1985.
1985 Orlando Public Library Expansion
ABOVE: Photo postcard showing the exterior of the Main Library, viewed from Rosalind and Central.
VIEW 1986 Grand Opening Event
EXPLORE MORE photos and memories of the History of the Orange County Library System.
Peruse the images below under Attachments.
Topics of attached images: Genealogy Department, Social Science Department, Young Adult Department, Lizzart sculpture, Children’s Library. Mary Anne Hodel, Charlie Hoeck.